top of page

persuasion summary


I can't say enough great things about an online portfolio, and in today's job market, especially in communication, marketing and public relations fields, it is really vital to have an online presence.

I think the process of curating my online portfolio has helped me improve my professional presence by with a more streamlined website that represents what I strive to be as a communication professional. I've gained confidence through the process of fiming (and re-filming, and re-filming!) as well as editing my video presentations, which required critiquing my own speaking style and habits and working to improve my weak spots.

What I like most about my ePortfolio is the quirky appeal paired with plenty of resources and writing samples. Although there is still work to be done (and probably always will be), I think my portfolio gives a good idea of my style and abilities: I am fun-loving but also experienced, dedicated and professional, and I have the portfolio of work to prove it.

My favorite assignment for this portfolio was the video analysis of advertisements. In this video, I analyzed 5 different Perrier ads from the 1980s to the present. This was a ton of fun, not only because I got to watch and re-watch the stunningly creative ads, and really pay attention to the details, but also because I had fun filming the video. After about 50 takes, I began to get comfortable in front of the camera and actually enjoyed the process (although few things can feel as crazy as talking to a camera full-volume in an empty house!).

The most challenging aspect of this portfolio for me was letting myself be "done." They say that perfect is the enemy of good, and I am definitely a perfectionist when it comes to design, copy, and website aesthetics. So I found it difficult once I started working to reach a stopping point - there's always one more tweak, one more improvement, one more thing to add. This is good because it shows prospective employers or clients that I work hard and strive for perfection. But it's also a bit of a struggle because I get completely sucked into a project, lose track of time, and have a hard time letting myself off the hook for anything less than what I consider "perfect".

I would advise future students to work very hard on their portfolio -- it will pay off. Really, don't do a halfway job or just try to coast through. If you are serious about a job in a communication-related field, being able to easily transition your ePortfolio to your own personal career website will be invaluable and will truly give you a leg up on your competition and peers. I would also encourage future students to strive to be as honest as you can through your ePortfolio. Put your best foot forward, but don't try to be a cookie cutter clone. People relate to you when they can sense that you're being straightforward and genuine -- and people are more likely to want to work with you when they are able to relate to you. Be honest, be relatable, and be unique.

I found many aspects of the Persuasion course interesting, but probably the one that stands out the most to me is the huge psychology aspect of persuasion. This semester, when friends or acquaintances asked what classes I was taking and I mentioned a class called "Persuasion," I paid attention to their reactions. Mostly, the general feedback was that persuasion had a negative connotation -- as if it was the profession of pulling the wool over people's eyes. It was interesting to learn about the ethics of persuasion, and I think in that respect, my view of persuasion has definitely grown and deepend since I began the course.

I now see it not as the art of convincing, but the practice of communicating in a way that connects meaningfully with already-existing wants or needs of consumers. The way I see it, as a consumer myself, I am going to buy products regardless. I would much rather buy from a company that works hard to find out what makes me tick, what I love, what inspires me, and that found the best way to connect with me.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
bottom of page